Hayes Cricket Club News story

Hayes 1st X1 & 3rd X1 Clinch Promotion as Champions

11 Sep 2018

Hayes 1st X1 clinched the division 2a championship for 2018 with 2 matches to play, they scored the required 150 runs against Kidmore End to attain the 4 points needed which meant no other team could catch them regardless of the results. They finished up with 338 points which was 37 ponts ahead of the 2nd placed team Marlow.

Captained by Raman Lall with fantastic performances by Prabhjot Singh - 632 runs, 4th in the division, Mandeep Singh - 482 runs, Harmanpreet Johal, Harman Momi & Josh Painter all scoring over 300 league runs followed up by Mrunal Sawant & Surinderpal Sharma both scoring over 200 league runs a fine all round performance by all the batsmen.

The bowling department saw eqgually fantastic performances with Athar Khan taking 45 league wickets which was the best performance in the division, followed by Harman Momi taking 36 league wickets, 3rd in the division, the other bowlers all cotributed throughout the season with Surinderpal Sharma, Harmanpreet Johal, Ramneek Madial and Harpreet Sangha all taking above 14 wickets.

Joshua Painter had a good season behind the stumps taking 21 wickets finishing 2nd in the league division for dimissals, he also took his first ever bowling wicket for the 1st X1 against Kidmore End.


Captained by Baljinder Bogar the 3rd X1 clinched the championship of division 8a on the last league match of the season when playing away at Wargrave who were fighting it out together for teh championship, fortunately the 3rd X1 only needed 5 points to clinch the title and duly obliged getting the required runs and wickets before Wargrave eventually won the match, a great end to the season.

The batting Honours went to Luke Manlow scoring 444 runs, closely followed by Shahid Ahmed with 397, the other batsmen also did very well, Vinhor Tripathi with 287 in his first season with Hayes, Amin Muyassar & Frasley Coutinho both scoring over 200 runs with Luke Gilham, Samarprit Ghinda, Tarsem Bittu Kumar, Anmol Kullar & Pyara Sidhu all scoring over 100 league runs.

The bowling honours go to Tarsem Kumar taking 30 league wickets 3rd in the division,  followed by Anmol Kullar with 19, Vibhor Tripathi with 15, Josh Frost with 13 and other useful contributions amde by Amin Muyassar and Pyara Sidhu.